

# COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Department of Criminal Justice Services

Shannon Dion Director

Megan Peterson Chief Deputy Director Washington Building 1100 Bank Street Richmond, Virginia 23219 (804) 786-4000 www.dcjs.virginia.gov

# **Criminal Justice Services Board (CJSB) Executive Committee**

June 8, 2021, at 1:00 p.m.

NOTE: This meeting was held by electronic means, via ZOOM meeting software, in response to the Governor's Declaration of a State of Emergency due to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

#### Members Present

Chief James Williams, Chair Sheriff Vanessa Crawford Mr. David Johnson Mr. Jagdish Katyal The Hon. Bryan Porter, Vice-Chair Colonel Gary Settle Chief Kelvin Wright

#### Members Absent

Chief Craig Branch

### I. Call to Order

Chairman James Williams called the meeting of the Executive Committee of the Criminal Justice Services Board to order at 1:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

### II. Call to Order and Approval of Minutes

Chief Kelvin Wright made the motion, seconded by Sheriff Vanessa Crawford, to accept the minutes of the December 17, 2020, meeting of the Executive Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

### **III. Grant Funding Approval for Law Enforcement Grant**

The Chairman called on Mr. Tracy Matthews, Law Enforcement Training and Grants Supervisor of DCJS, to give a summary of the Gun Violence Intervention Program (GVIP) grant solicitation.

Staff recommended funding for the Cities of Hampton, Newport News, Roanoke, Richmond, and Portsmouth. Staff did not recommend funding for the Cities of Petersburg and Charlottesville.

Mr. David Johnson made a motion, seconded by Chief Wright, to approve the grant funding for the GVIP Grant Solicitation. The motion passed. *Recusals: Sheriff Crawford for the City of Petersburg*.

# IV. Nominations and Appointments Committee Meeting Update

The Chairman called on Mr. Jagdish Katyal to give a summary of the Nominations and Appointments Committee meeting.

Mr. Katyal made the motion for the Board to approve the following appointment/reappointments to the Private Security Services Advisory Board (PSSAB):

- Michael Ashley be reappointed as the PSSAB Private Investigator Representative whose term will begin July 1, 2021, and end on August 31, 2024.
- Rodney Budd be reappointed as the PSSAB Private Investigator Representative whose term will begin July 1, 2021, and end on June 30, 2024.
- Frank Kollmansperger be reappointed as the PSSAB Electronic Security Representative whose term will begin September 1, 2021, and end on August 31, 2024.
- Jeffrey Dodson, Jr., be appointed as the PSSAB Law Enforcement Representative whose term will begin July 1, 2021, and end on June 30, 2022.

The motion was seconded by Mr. Johnson. The motion passed unanimously.

#### V. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

#### VI. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 1:12 p.m.